The Do’s & Don’ts

For all you writers out there you might want to listen in for a moment. I need to talk to you about something very, very important right now…you ready? Are you sure your listening? Okay, well here it is…don’t fill your pages with a bunch of meaningless, everyday “stuff”. What I mean by this is, don’t in every single chapter, all the way through the entire book, write what your character ate at every single meal…WE DON’T WANT TO KNOW THIS!

Now, the flip side to this is, you do have to make your character believable so you will need to have some meals placed in there occasionally but just make sure you have a point to it. Whatever you put in each chapter make sure that it’s building your storyline and has a purpose.

I know sometimes its really hard to write certain chapters and fill up your book. Nobody wants to read a 250 page book that lacks substance, they want a solid story. So if you’re having trouble coming up with things to say or different scenes perhaps you just need to step away from writing for a few days and come back to it.

Also, the reader wants diversity. Don’t write the same “type” of scene for three chapters. Example, don’t write, in three chapters, your character learning how to play golf (perhaps that’s a bad example but you get the picture). If you have to write it like this make it interesting. Build in emotion or build intensity (if that’s the type of manuscript you are writing). Make the reader want to find out what will happen. Make the reader fall in love with your characters!

I only bring this up because I recently read a book (no I’m not going to tell you which book it was) and almost the entire 500 pages was stuffed full of what type of foods the characters ate, what it smelled like, what it tasted like, etc. There was no back story to justify putting it in there. I felt like the writer didn’t know what to say and so she threw it in there to “fill up the pages” with something. It didn’t grow the story in anyway. So if your characters are eating please give them something interesting to say.

14 thoughts on “The Do’s & Don’ts

    • jaimeguerard says:

      Yes it was. It has the potential to be a good book if the author knew how to develop the characters better. However, it helps reading these types of books (at least for me) so I know what to shy away from. Thanks for the comment!

  1. Brittany says:

    Yikes – I’m curious to know what the book was!! And 500 pages of it – I don’t think I could have finished!
    Even though it seems obvious, it’s still helpful to aspiring writers *coughmecough* to hear things spelled out, plain and simple. I’m trying to write here and there and sometimes I just need to read HEY – don’t do this!
    πŸ™‚

    • jaimeguerard says:

      Hi Brittany thanks for the comment! I would normally post the book name, however, I have a personal friend who is working closely with the producer for the movie so I don’t want to post it. I know the movie will be good and the concept and the “story” is good (the author does write some chapters well) but when the fourth book came I just couldn’t handle it anymore. I think she was running out of things to say. πŸ™‚

    • jaimeguerard says:

      This particular author started out self published but then went to a big publishing house right after she released her first book. This particular book I’m referring to was her third book in the series.

      • M. Ziegler says:

        Well isn’t that annoying!!! All I can say is WHYYYYYYYYY???? I can think of a few books that fit the description above πŸ™‚ One stands out though.

      • jaimeguerard says:

        lol…I’m sorry. Like I told Brittany above, I would normally post the book name, however, I have a personal friend who is working closely with the producer for the movie so I don’t want to post it.

        If you think about it you might be able to figure it out. The only thing I will say is that its a YA novel.

      • M. Ziegler says:

        Oh. sorry I meant, “why is it that books like that make it to publication?” It just isn’t fair. I would never ask you divulge info that could be harmful to another author – or movie apparently. So we can look forward to an hour of eating then? hehe

Leave a Reply

