Well That Was Scary!

I had a big scare on Monday, one that took me back 4 years ago where I lost my manuscript 3 times. Click here to read about it.

Computer ErrorI woke up, turned on my computer and after about an hour of trying to boot-it-up it just was stuck! I couldn’t get into any of my files, I couldn’t get onto the internet….NOTHING!

To say that my heart stopped is an understatement. Luckily, from my past experience with this type of thing happening (having me loose my work) I thankfully had it backed up. But still, I couldn’t work, I couldn’t do anything. When you have a deadline and something like this happens you just start to go into panic mode.

It did turn out okay. With the help of my very good friend Mat, he was able to get my computer working again! I have to thank him because after he worked his “day job” (which was a 12 hour shift) he got right on the phone with me (he lives in California) and 4 hours later it was complete! It is a funny story though, he couldn’t remotely sign into my computer (the internet wasn’t working) so we had to facetime each other on our cell phones, talk on another phone and I had to hold  my cell phone up to the computer so he could guide me.  At the time it wasn’t fun but looking back, it’s nice how technology has grown (with facetime & skype) so I could do that type of thing and get the results I needed.

Well, I better go and continue editing, this little bump has set me back a little and now I have to work twice as hard to meet my deadline. So for now, it’s off to the cave!

4 thoughts on “Well That Was Scary!

  1. iHijinx says:

    I live in fear of losing my work – I’m a little obsessive. Every now and then I back up my files to Evernote and a secret memory stick… not so secret anymore! duh! anyway, goes to show, we all need a ‘Mat’.

Leave a Reply

